June 06, 2011

Review: Killer

Title: Killer
Author: Sara Shepard
Series: Pretty Little Liars #6
Publisher: HarperTeen
Published: January 2009

In picture-perfect Rosewood, Pennsylvania, ash-blond highlights gleam in the winter sun and frozen lakes sparkle like Swarovski crystals. But pictures often lie— and so do Rosewood's four prettiest girls.
Hanna, Aria, Spencer, and Emily have been lying ever since they became friends with beautiful Alison DiLaurentis. Ali made them do terrible things—things they had to keep secret for years. And even though Ali was killed at the end of seventh grade, their bad-girl ways didn't die with her.
Hanna's on a mission to corrupt Rosewood's youth, starting with a very attractive sophomore. Aria's snooping into her boyfriend's past. Spencer's stealing— from her family. And pure little Emily's abstaining from abstinence.
The girls should be careful, though. They thought they were safe when Ali's killer was arrested and A's true identity was finally revealed. But now there's a new A in town turning up the heat. And this time Rosewood is going to burn.
This 6th installment gave the whole PLL franchise a whole new twist. And was my favourite so far!  I loved every bit of it! New characters were introduced *COUGH* Jason *COUGH!* and new relationships begin and end. As the girls work to uncover Ali's killer A is up to there old tricks and this time things might become almost fatal.

I loved all the aspects of this book and nothing really made it confusing at all Shepard must be taking my advice! This book was completely fabulous and entwines parts from different books to make more sense. 

Overall I rate this book 5 STARS!

More Reviews and updates soon.

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

May 29, 2011

Nelly's Review Day Kick-off!

As I said before Today I was planning on putting out A LOT of Reviews and as promised I AM!

For the kick-off I've decided to announce the books that will be reviewed throughout the day, and without further ado let Review Day BEGIN!

Books to be Reviewed (Not in this order!):

Seedfolks By Paul Fleischman
Looking For Alaska By John Green
The Warrior Heir By Cinda Chima
Life as we Knew it By Susan Beth Pfeffer
Killer By Sara Shepard
Heartless By Sara Shepard
Wanted By Sara Shepard
Across the Universe By Beth Revis

Sound good to you?
Well then get ready for some rockin reviews!

Reviews NEXT!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

May 28, 2011

2 NEW Awesome Covers!

Hey Everyone!

Especially Infernal Devices and Heroes of Olympus fans!

You might not have noticed but 2 new covers have been released along with some extra tidbits!

For Infernal Devices,

Isn't it BEAUTIFUL?! Ohhh Jem Carstairs!

Here's the synopsis from Goodreads,

In Clockwork Prince, with Mortmain vanished and the clock counting down on how long Charlotte can keep control of the Institute away from Benedict Lightwood, Will, Jem and Tessa must dig into Mortmain’s past to predict what he will do in the future, But secrets about Mortmain aren’t all they find buried — Tessa begins to uncover the truth about her own birth, and the ghosts of Will’s past return to haunt him. As Tessa grows closer to Jem, and Will is driven further toward the brink of madness by jealousy and guilt, will they discover the truth in time to halt the next phase of Mortmain’s evil plan?

The other book, The Son of Neptune, cover has been released also.

This is also a book I'm excited about! And to read the first chapter CLICK HERE!

For those of you itching to read either of those books I'll be posting more information on them soon so stay tuned!

More Later

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

May 27, 2011

Follow Friday #5

OK I totally DIDN'T keep my promise but I have a good reason! I was in Victoria for the long weekend so I was therefore unavailable and without internet access. Then for the rest of the week our internet's been down so I haven't been able to get on. But I did finish some good books! I read Across the Universe by Beth Revis and Looking for Alaska by John Green. They were both great and reviews for those two books coming soon! Also I'm going to be reviewing ton's of books this coming Sunday so if your looking for some good reviews I'm posting New and Old reviews never posted here before on the blog so watch out for that. Anyways on to Follow Friday.

This week's question is,

 Q. How many books do you read in a week? And in what format do you read them, or listen to them?

Well so far this week I've read Across the Universe, Looking for Alaska, and I'm nearly finished The Throne of Fire and Heist Society so I'd say I read about 3-4 books a week I don't usually listen to books or read them on kindle/ebook so most likely you'll see me settled down with a paperback or (preferably) hardcover.

Anyways if your a new follower! Hi! If your old! Hi! It's great that you've hopped by to say hello!
Also right after this post I'll be posting two new awesome covers that have just been revealed and more info on the book!

See you soon and thanks for following!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

May 20, 2011

Follow Friday #4

And so comes another Follow Friday, more so one that I'm actually participating in because I'm sure you've noticed my absence! I promise that I will try to post a review a book update a quote or a meme everday just to keep you interersted. So lets hope I keep my promise!

Now on to...

This weeks question is...
Q. Can you tell us FIVE quirky habits or things about you? We all have them...

1. I'm in love with almond butter but can't eat peanut butter to save my life.

2. I'm secretly a major hockey fan Shhhh...!

3. One day last year I read for an entire day nonstop and finished aprox. 15 books!

4. I have a major stuffed toy collection and for some reason I can't bare to part with any of them!

5. I'm freakishly scared of butterflies and moths! NO JOKE!

What are 5 facts about you?
If your a new follower WELCOME!
If your an old follower WELCOME!

Leave your link and I'll definitely drop by!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

May 18, 2011

Review: Wicked

Title: Wicked
Author: Sara Shepard
Series: Pretty Little Liars #5
Publisher: HarperTeen
Published: November 25th 2008

In idyllic Rosewood, Pennsylvania, four very pretty girls just can't help but be bad. . . .
Hanna will do anything to be Rosewood's queen bee. Spencer's digging up her family's secrets. Emily can't stop thinking about her new boyfriend. And Aria approves a little too strongly of her mom's taste in men.
Now that Ali's killer is finally behind bars, the girls think they're safe. But those who forget the past are condemned to repeat it. And they should know by now that I'm always watching. . . 

-  A

I'm not going to say this book was Wicked because it was AMAZING, but A was certainly Wicked in this one. For those of you who read the last 4 books you know that there's a new A in town and that she's more evil then the last one. This book I think was written better then the last 4. I don't know if it was the story or what but it was more intriguing and the plot line was getting better leaving hints for what I knew what would become important in the next couple of books.

Sara Shepard took off great in this sequel series and I was SO excited to read the next on because of the awesome cliff hangers!

Overall I rated the 5th Pretty Little Liars 4 STARS!
More reviews soon!
- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

Review: A World Without Heroes

Title: Beyonders: A World Without Heroes
Author: Brandon Mull
Series: Beyonders #1
Publisher: Aladdin
Published: March 15th 2011

Jason Walker has often wished his life could be a bit less predictable--until a routine day at the zoo ends with Jason suddenly transporting from the hippo tank to a place unlike anything he's ever seen. In the past, the people of Lyrian welcomed visitors from the Beyond, but attitudes have changed since the wizard emperor Maldor rose to power. The brave resistors who opposed the emperor have been bought off or broken, leaving a realm where fear and suspicion prevail.
In his search for a way home, Jason meets Rachel, who was also mysteriously drawn to Lyrian from our world. With the help of a few scattered rebels, Jason and Rachel become entangled in a quest to piece together the word of power that can destroy the emperor, and learn that their best hope to find a way home will be to save this world without heroes.
The beginning of this book had such a good catch that I thought I would finish it in one day despite the looming 454 pages that it held. Finishing the book in a day was not the case though it took almost a month to get through it but when I was done I was mostly satisfied. I was of course left with a few unanswered questions, but that was to be expected. But I was also left with a book that didn't seem to be written by Brandon Mull.

My reason for this is that it was way too wordy, yes it was good, but did Mull have to describe every little thing with words that I know people in this age group wouldn't understand? The plot line was great though full of action and the quest aspect was sure to hook young and old readers. I also liked that through the book Jason was searching for a word and I liked it how Mull created something that the characters could work towards while giving a lot of key information as they explored different places of this new world Lyrian!
Overall I REALLY enjoyed this book and rate it 4 STARS!
Brandon Mull's next book scheduled for the January of 2012 will be called Seeds of Rebellion and is to be the second book in the Beyonders Trilogy. For other books by Brandon Mull read the Fablehaven series!

More reviews soon and the review for Wicked #5 in the Pretty Little Liars series will be posted right now!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer