June 06, 2011

Review: Killer





Title: Killer
Author: Sara Shepard
Series: Pretty Little Liars #6
Publisher: HarperTeen
Published: January 2009


In picture-perfect Rosewood, Pennsylvania, ash-blond highlights gleam in the winter sun and frozen lakes sparkle like Swarovski crystals. But pictures often lie— and so do Rosewood's four prettiest girls.
Hanna, Aria, Spencer, and Emily have been lying ever since they became friends with beautiful Alison DiLaurentis. Ali made them do terrible things—things they had to keep secret for years. And even though Ali was killed at the end of seventh grade, their bad-girl ways didn't die with her.
Hanna's on a mission to corrupt Rosewood's youth, starting with a very attractive sophomore. Aria's snooping into her boyfriend's past. Spencer's stealing— from her family. And pure little Emily's abstaining from abstinence.
The girls should be careful, though. They thought they were safe when Ali's killer was arrested and A's true identity was finally revealed. But now there's a new A in town turning up the heat. And this time Rosewood is going to burn.
 
This 6th installment gave the whole PLL franchise a whole new twist. And was my favourite so far!  I loved every bit of it! New characters were introduced *COUGH* Jason *COUGH!* and new relationships begin and end. As the girls work to uncover Ali's killer A is up to there old tricks and this time things might become almost fatal.

I loved all the aspects of this book and nothing really made it confusing at all Shepard must be taking my advice! This book was completely fabulous and entwines parts from different books to make more sense. 

Overall I rate this book 5 STARS!

More Reviews and updates soon.

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

May 29, 2011

Nelly's Review Day Kick-off!

As I said before Today I was planning on putting out A LOT of Reviews and as promised I AM!

For the kick-off I've decided to announce the books that will be reviewed throughout the day, and without further ado let Review Day BEGIN!

Books to be Reviewed (Not in this order!):

Seedfolks By Paul Fleischman
Looking For Alaska By John Green
The Warrior Heir By Cinda Chima
Life as we Knew it By Susan Beth Pfeffer
Killer By Sara Shepard
Heartless By Sara Shepard
Wanted By Sara Shepard
Across the Universe By Beth Revis

Sound good to you?
Well then get ready for some rockin reviews!

Reviews NEXT!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

May 28, 2011

2 NEW Awesome Covers!

Hey Everyone!

Especially Infernal Devices and Heroes of Olympus fans!

You might not have noticed but 2 new covers have been released along with some extra tidbits!


For Infernal Devices,


Isn't it BEAUTIFUL?! Ohhh Jem Carstairs!

Here's the synopsis from Goodreads,

In Clockwork Prince, with Mortmain vanished and the clock counting down on how long Charlotte can keep control of the Institute away from Benedict Lightwood, Will, Jem and Tessa must dig into Mortmain’s past to predict what he will do in the future, But secrets about Mortmain aren’t all they find buried — Tessa begins to uncover the truth about her own birth, and the ghosts of Will’s past return to haunt him. As Tessa grows closer to Jem, and Will is driven further toward the brink of madness by jealousy and guilt, will they discover the truth in time to halt the next phase of Mortmain’s evil plan?

The other book, The Son of Neptune, cover has been released also.



This is also a book I'm excited about! And to read the first chapter CLICK HERE!

For those of you itching to read either of those books I'll be posting more information on them soon so stay tuned!

More Later

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

May 27, 2011

Follow Friday #5

OK I totally DIDN'T keep my promise but I have a good reason! I was in Victoria for the long weekend so I was therefore unavailable and without internet access. Then for the rest of the week our internet's been down so I haven't been able to get on. But I did finish some good books! I read Across the Universe by Beth Revis and Looking for Alaska by John Green. They were both great and reviews for those two books coming soon! Also I'm going to be reviewing ton's of books this coming Sunday so if your looking for some good reviews I'm posting New and Old reviews never posted here before on the blog so watch out for that. Anyways on to Follow Friday.




This week's question is,

 Q. How many books do you read in a week? And in what format do you read them, or listen to them?

Well so far this week I've read Across the Universe, Looking for Alaska, and I'm nearly finished The Throne of Fire and Heist Society so I'd say I read about 3-4 books a week I don't usually listen to books or read them on kindle/ebook so most likely you'll see me settled down with a paperback or (preferably) hardcover.

Anyways if your a new follower! Hi! If your old! Hi! It's great that you've hopped by to say hello!
Also right after this post I'll be posting two new awesome covers that have just been revealed and more info on the book!

See you soon and thanks for following!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

May 20, 2011

Follow Friday #4

And so comes another Follow Friday, more so one that I'm actually participating in because I'm sure you've noticed my absence! I promise that I will try to post a review a book update a quote or a meme everday just to keep you interersted. So lets hope I keep my promise!

Now on to...



This weeks question is...
Q. Can you tell us FIVE quirky habits or things about you? We all have them...


1. I'm in love with almond butter but can't eat peanut butter to save my life.


2. I'm secretly a major hockey fan Shhhh...!


3. One day last year I read for an entire day nonstop and finished aprox. 15 books!


4. I have a major stuffed toy collection and for some reason I can't bare to part with any of them!


5. I'm freakishly scared of butterflies and moths! NO JOKE!

What are 5 facts about you?
If your a new follower WELCOME!
If your an old follower WELCOME!


Leave your link and I'll definitely drop by!


- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

May 18, 2011

Review: Wicked





Title: Wicked
Author: Sara Shepard
Series: Pretty Little Liars #5
Publisher: HarperTeen
Published: November 25th 2008



In idyllic Rosewood, Pennsylvania, four very pretty girls just can't help but be bad. . . .
Hanna will do anything to be Rosewood's queen bee. Spencer's digging up her family's secrets. Emily can't stop thinking about her new boyfriend. And Aria approves a little too strongly of her mom's taste in men.
 
Now that Ali's killer is finally behind bars, the girls think they're safe. But those who forget the past are condemned to repeat it. And they should know by now that I'm always watching. . . 

-  A

I'm not going to say this book was Wicked because it was AMAZING, but A was certainly Wicked in this one. For those of you who read the last 4 books you know that there's a new A in town and that she's more evil then the last one. This book I think was written better then the last 4. I don't know if it was the story or what but it was more intriguing and the plot line was getting better leaving hints for what I knew what would become important in the next couple of books.

Sara Shepard took off great in this sequel series and I was SO excited to read the next on because of the awesome cliff hangers!

Overall I rated the 5th Pretty Little Liars 4 STARS!
 
More reviews soon!
- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

Review: A World Without Heroes


Title: Beyonders: A World Without Heroes
Author: Brandon Mull
Series: Beyonders #1
Publisher: Aladdin
Published: March 15th 2011

Jason Walker has often wished his life could be a bit less predictable--until a routine day at the zoo ends with Jason suddenly transporting from the hippo tank to a place unlike anything he's ever seen. In the past, the people of Lyrian welcomed visitors from the Beyond, but attitudes have changed since the wizard emperor Maldor rose to power. The brave resistors who opposed the emperor have been bought off or broken, leaving a realm where fear and suspicion prevail.
In his search for a way home, Jason meets Rachel, who was also mysteriously drawn to Lyrian from our world. With the help of a few scattered rebels, Jason and Rachel become entangled in a quest to piece together the word of power that can destroy the emperor, and learn that their best hope to find a way home will be to save this world without heroes.
The beginning of this book had such a good catch that I thought I would finish it in one day despite the looming 454 pages that it held. Finishing the book in a day was not the case though it took almost a month to get through it but when I was done I was mostly satisfied. I was of course left with a few unanswered questions, but that was to be expected. But I was also left with a book that didn't seem to be written by Brandon Mull.

My reason for this is that it was way too wordy, yes it was good, but did Mull have to describe every little thing with words that I know people in this age group wouldn't understand? The plot line was great though full of action and the quest aspect was sure to hook young and old readers. I also liked that through the book Jason was searching for a word and I liked it how Mull created something that the characters could work towards while giving a lot of key information as they explored different places of this new world Lyrian!
 
Overall I REALLY enjoyed this book and rate it 4 STARS!
Brandon Mull's next book scheduled for the January of 2012 will be called Seeds of Rebellion and is to be the second book in the Beyonders Trilogy. For other books by Brandon Mull read the Fablehaven series!

More reviews soon and the review for Wicked #5 in the Pretty Little Liars series will be posted right now!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

May 12, 2011

Review: Unbelievable





Title: Unbelievable
Author: Sara Shepard
Series: Pretty Little Liars #4
Publisher: HarperTeen
Published: June 1st 2008


FOUR PRETTY LITTLE LIARS CHARMED LIVES HAVE TURNED INTO LIVING NIGHTMARES!
Emily's been shipped off to Iowa to live with her ├╝berconservative cousins. Aria's boyfriend is behind bars—because of her. Spencer's afraid she was involved in Ali's murder. But Hanna's fate is far worse: She's clinging to life in the hospital because she knew too much.
If these girls don't start listening to me, Hanna's going to look like the lucky one.

-A
 This book was Unbelievable. Most things we had questions about in the last three books were coming to a conclusion. And as the Pretty Little Liars deepest secrets were revealed so was A.

Some things I enjoyed about this book was how the Shepard managed to always make someone look like Ali's killler or A and then at the last second something totally unexpected would change your perspective about it entirely. She sort of drew you away from the real A and the real killer but still left you with all the hints just dropping them into the backdrop or plot line where you wouldn't notice.

The only sort of con as in all the books was the fact that nearing the end it got very confusing! So many things were happening at once and so many things were being revealed that I wasn't always sure what was trying to be portrayed. In the end A and Ali's killer was found and I was sure that this must be the end to the Pretty Little Liars series. But no. Just like in the books Shepard pulled a huge twist and suddenly there's a new A in town. Who I think is planning on spilling all the pretty little liar's secrets even more deviously then the first.

 Overall I rate Unbelievable 5 WHOLE STARS!

You should definetly head on to your local bookstore or library and pick up Unbelievable be ready for a great read and huge thrill ride!

More reviews to come!
Kisses!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer


May 11, 2011

Review: Perfect


Title: Perfect
Author: Sara Shepard
Series: Pretty Little Liars #3
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: September 1st 2007

In a town where gossip thrives like the ivy that clings to its mansions, where mysteries lie behind manicured hedges and skeletons hide in every walk-in closet, four perfect-looking girls aren't nearly as perfect as they seem.
Three years ago, Spencer, Aria, Emily, Hanna, and their best friend Alison were the girls at Rosewood Day School. They clicked through the halls in their Miu Miu flats, tanned in their matching Pucci bikinis, and laughed behind their freshly manicured fingernails. They were the girls everyone loved but secretly hated- especially Alison.
So when Alison mysteriously vanished one night, Spencer, Aria, Emily, and Hanna's grief was tinged with . . . relief. And when Alison's body was later discovered in her own backyard, the girls were forced to unearth some ugly memories of their old friend, too. Could there be more to Alison's death than anyone realizes?
Now someone named A, someone who seems to know everything, is pointing the finger at one of them for Ali's murder. As their secrets get darker and their scandals turn deadly, A is poised to ruin their perfect little lives forever.
 
Best. One. Yet. This one was the clearly the best one yet with plenty of new twists, Shepard definitely perfected this book. Some of the things I liked best was how things that had happened in the first book were coming more into play now and threats in earlier A notes were becoming true. Plus the pretty little liars were getting into more and more deeper trouble. I also liked how after every girl's chapter there was a total cliff hanger leaving you wanting more, but when you moved on to the next story, you were completely drawn in and didn't want it to end!

Some things I didn't like was that it got very confusing and toward the end when the girls stroie got intertwined I was very confused, but it was OK because the minute I put Perfect down look what I found!





Unbelievable is next! 
     Overall I LOVED Perfect! And I rate it 5 STARS!
 
The review for Unbelievable coming next!
- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer



May 05, 2011

Review: Before I Fall

Title: Before I Fall
Author: Lauren Oliver
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: March 2nd 2010

WHAT IF YOU ONLY HAD ONE DAY TO LIVE? WHAT WOULD YOU DO? WHO WOULD YOU KISS? AND HOW FAR WOULD YOU GO TO SAVE YOUR LIFE?
Samantha Kingston has it all: the world's most crush-worthy boyfriend, three amazing best friends, and first pick of everything at Thomas Jefferson High—from the best table in the cafeteria to the choicest parking spot. Friday, February 12, should be just another day in her charmed life.
Instead, it turns out to be her last.
Then she gets a second chance. Seven chances, in fact. Reliving her last day during one miraculous week, she will untangle the mystery surrounding her death—and discover the true value of everything she is in danger of losing.

After I read this book I had so many mixed emotions. I was sad, yet happy. Relieved, yet I felt like the story wasn't completely told. In fact the whole journey of reading that book was full of mixed emotions for me. I don't think I've ever experienced something like it.

For those of you confused. Let me explain. Samantha Kingston is a girl who never expected to die on February 12th. She's like any other haughty, snobby, prissy, senior. But as she begins to relive the same day again and again. Samantha begins to realize exactly how haughty, snobby, and prissy she really is.

The thing I loved most about this book was how each chapter was the same day February 12th. But each day was totally different, and each day had a totally different twist. Lauren Oliver seemed to be able to reveal all the information but spread it out so there was always a cliff-hanger. And even when Samantha was sure everything was going right a knew twist was revealed.

The only thing I didn't like was that sometimes I felt like I wanted to put it down and sometimes it was slow and a couple paragraphs seemed unneeded. Overall I really LOVED Before I Fall and I rate it.


A whopping 4 STARS
  
More reviews soon,

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer



The books that sit upon my shelf...

Hehehe... Hahaha... Why am I writing this post?! You might be wondering the same question. Well here's your answer. Sort of.


















Those are most of the books that I'm going to be reading the next month. YAY! Did I mention most? Also I've realized how few reviews I've posted so reviews coming soon! It's OK I have some prepared! Sort of... In my head. You know...

Anyways I'm going to go post some reviews NOW!

Wish me luck! (I was joking...)
- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

May 01, 2011

May 2011 New Releases

So you're wondering whats coming out this May? Look no further then below these words for some awesome YA releases!


May 1st 

Shine By Lauren Myracle

May 3rd


Divergent (Divergent #1) By Veronica Roth
The Throne of Fire (Kane Chronicles #2) By Rick Riordan
So Much Closer By Susanne Colasanti
The Summer of Firsts and Lasts By Terra Elan McVoy
Moonglass By Jessi Kirby
Illusions By Aprilynne Pike
The Craving (The Vampire Diaries: Stefan's Diaries #3) By L.J. Smith
The Rouge Crew (Redwall #22) By Brian Jaques


May 10th

What Happened to Goodbye By Sarah Dessen
Die for Me By Amy Plum
Incredibly Alice By Phyllis Reynolds Naylor


May 12th

Ten (Winnie Perry #1) By Lauren Myracle

May 17th 

Big Nate on a Roll (Big Nate #3) By Lincoln Peirce
Cryptic Cravings (Vampire Kisses Series #8) By Ellen Schrieber

May 24th

Beauty Queens By Libba Bray

May 25th

The Warlock (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #5) By Michael Scott


If I missed anything please let me know and I'll add it to the list! But there's the new releases of May for you!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer
P.S. I'll probably be on and off for a few weeks because of homework, school, swimming, track, writing, reading, the sort. But I'll get to you when I have time!

April 22, 2011

Review: Flawless

 

Title: Flawless
Author: Sara Shepard
Series: Pretty Little Liars #2
Published: March 15th 2007
Publisher: HarperCollins

SPOILERS IF YOU HAVEN'T READ PRETTY LITTLE LIARS!

Spencer stole her sister's boyfriend. Aria is brokenhearted over her English teacher. Emily likes her new friend Maya . . . as much more than a friend. Hanna's obsession with looking flawless is making her sick. And their most horrible secret yet is so scandalous that the truth would ruin them forever.
And why shouldn't I tell? They deserve to lose it all. With every crumpled note, wicked IM, and vindictive text message I send, I'll be taking these pretty little liars down. Trust me, I've got enough dirt to bury them alive.

                             - A

OK the second installment of Flawless was pretty amazing. The twists got better and so did the plot-line. OK I admit it I devoured this book in 2 hours of fast paced reading enjoyment. 

At the start of the book was a flashback to Aria, Emily, Spencer, and Hanna's seventh grade year, this one revealing what happened in the whole "Jenna Thing." A mystery that the girls kept bringing up in the first book. After the whole reveal we paced up to the lives of Aria, Emily, Hanna, and Spencer. They were still receiving notes from the mysterious A which seemed to be spilling even more personal secrets. She definetly musn't like them!

The only bad thing was that it seemed like we didn't get enough of some characters and too much of others so I wish that Sara Shepard could balance things out a little more!

All in all I really enjoyed Flawless and I rate it 4 STARS!

More reviews soon!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

Follow Friday #3


So it's another Follow Friday. A day where everbody says HI! Today's question is,


Q. What is on your current playlist right now?

For me nothing is on my current playlist. Yes I have an iPod but all the songs on there are from  like 2007! No I don't listen to music. There I said it. Shocker huh?


So what's your playlist? I'd love to know!

Review for Flawless and Perfect coming soon!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

April 21, 2011

Third Sentence Thursday

First of all I want to say sorry about not posting I've had a crazy busy week , as we're getting renovations done on our house, and we're staying in a little apartment for the time being. Anyways on to Third Sentence Thursday.

Third Sentence Thursday

At the moment I'm reading the fourth book in the Pretty Little Liars, Unbelievable!

My reviews for the other PLL books will come up soon! But anyways on to the Third Sentence Teaser!
"Everyone - Hanna Marin's parents, Officer Wilden, Hanna's best friend Mona Vanderwaal, and Lucas Beatie, a boy in her class at Rosewood day - was staring at her."

I know. Super long sentence, but I hoped you liked it. It introduces a lot of characters that are mostly important to the story! So don't you want to know what's up with Hanna? Who is everybody staring at? Where they are? Why? Pick up the first Pretty Little Liars book now!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

April 16, 2011

Review: The Lit Report




Title: The Lit Report
Author: Sarah N. Harvey
Publisher: Orca Book Publishers
Published: 2008


One great thing about Ruth is that she has a moth-flame relationship with catastrophe... Another great thing is that she's really creative, and I'm really pragmatic, so between the two of us we can usually figure something. I started with the facts. Ruth was pregnant.

Wow! I didn't imagine myself falling in love with Julia's story as much as I did. It started like this, Julia is that girl who's in love with books, has a best friend who hangs orange thongs on her wall, and is also christian. I know what your thinking... How could these three things actually be made into a story?! One sentence. 17 year old girl becomes pregnant who let me remind you is christian. The story ends up being about Julia and her best friend Ruth who's accidentally become pregnant, and how they cope with it without telling Ruth's parents.

Some of my favourite things about this book was how well everything clicked in place and by the end how the book had such a thrilling conclusion. I really liked orderly Julia, and swearing, pregnant Ruth who ended up becoming my favourite character. I also liked how as Julia tried to cope with Ruth's pregnancy, she was also balancing her step mother's baby, while getting tips about how to deliver Ruth's.

One thing I didn't enjoy though was how at the beginning of each chapter Julia talked about the quotes that were put at the beginning of the chapter for at least 3 pages. First of all she completely strayed away from the story at hand, and second of all the quotes had NOTHING to do with the story at all! It irritated me how the author just added those extra paragraphs for what seemed to be a higher word count!

Still this surprise hit made me want to know more about the author and I'm sure I'm going to be checking out some of her books soon! Overall I rate The Lit Report 3.5 STARS

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

April 15, 2011

Follow Friday #2



So brings another follow Friday. Follow Friday is a weekly meme hosted at Parajunkee's view. It's a day where we get to say HI and get lot's of Followers, along with answering a question. Today's question is,

Q. Do you have anyone that you can discuss books with IRL? Tell us about him/her.

Sadly no. My best friend would rather play sports then pick up a book any day, and everyone on my swim team obviously doesn't know the joy of going to book signing or else I would be listening to Cassandra Clare on Monday instead of swimming. So I am very sadly along IRL and all I have are my faithful book blogger friends and Goodreads!

Now I'm off to go follow people,

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

Review: Clockwork Angel





Title: Clockwork Angel
Author: Cassandra Clare
Series: Infernal Devices #1
Publisher: McElderly Books
Published: August 31st 2010



MAGIC IS DANGEROUS - BUT LOVE IS MORE DANGEROUS STILL.
When sixteen-year old Tessa Gray crossed the ocean to find her brother her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for in London's downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gas-lit streets. Only the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, keep order amidst the chaos. Kidnapped by the mysterious Dark Sisters, who are members of a secret organization called the Pandemonium Club, Tessa soon learns she herself is a downworlder with a rare ability: the power to transform, at will, into another person. Whats more, the Magister, the shadowy figure who runs the club, will stop at nothing to claim Tessa's power for his own Friendless and hunted, Tessa takes refuge with the Shadowhunters at the London Institute, who swear to help her find her brother if she will use her power to help them. Soon she finds herself facinated by - and torn between - two best friends: James, whose fragile beauty hides a deadly secret, and blue eyed Will, whose caustic wit and volatile moods keep everyone at arms length... everyone, that is, but Tessa. As their search draws them deep into the heart of an arcane plot that threatens to destroy Shadowhunters, Tessa realizes that she may need to choose between saving her brother and helping her new friends save the world... and that love might be the most dangerous magic of all.



I admit this book let me down a bit, I suppose it just wasn't was I was expecting as the prequel to Cassandra Clare's Mortal Instruments phenomenon. Not that it wasn't a great, brilliant, awesome book, I just imagined to live more up to it's expectations. Anyways, on to the 'Pro's.' For one thing I loved the setting, whats better then to read a book in London, England? I loved how Clare described the setting and I could really imagine myself being there, it must of took a lot of research to get some of those details exactly right but it certainly paid off because I think Cassandra nailed it! Another thing I liked was how she really made it so the characters were in the 1800's of England, and not some spinoff of what she imagined it to be. So you could say I was pretty impressed with the layout of things.


Another thing that got me thinking at first was how different it was to be a girl living that age where as being a shadowhunter meant that you were wearing pants, and battle gear, something that greatly surprised Tessa, the main character. I liked how Cassandra Clare wanted the girls to be able to do things that most weren't aloud to do in the century, and I applaud her for that.


But there were also somethings that I think were done not as well, the plot line for one seemed to be going either too slow or too fast and I wasn't finding that harmony that I was able to find in The Mortal Instruments. Another thing was that I disliked some of her characters and thought that either they needed to have more depth or not be introduced. Jessamine for one was someone who I found quite confusing, and somewhat overlooked, she only did one brave thing, barely appears in the story, and doesn't really seem to be needed at all. I didn't understand her at all and I definitely disliked her, hopefully things will change in Clockwork Prince. Which I should mention is the next book in the series! The cover is currently no available but I will definitely update you when the release happens!


Overall I enjoyed Clockwork Angel and I rate it 4 STARS!

April 14, 2011

Third Sentence Thursday

Sorry about not blogging in awhile! My reviews for Before I Fall and Clockwork Angel are coming for sure tommorrow. But while you wait I've decided to participate in Third Sentence Thursday. A weekly meme hosted by Sniffly Kitty. For the rules look below.


1) Take the book you are reading now and post the third sentence
2) Review this sentence anyway you want (funny and silly reviews encouraged)
3) Post a link to your sentence here or if you don't have a blog, just post it in the comments!

At the moment I'm reading 5 different books, so I'll put the sentence from the book that is right by my side.



"I adore Dickens."

Only three words, fit for the third sentence. Short but simple. Though I've got to say this wasn't the sentence that hooked me. Yes my school might be named after the man himself but the books aren't at all on my top ten favourites list, nor my top 100 list. Yet I'm 143 pages into it so I definitely recommend it!

Anyways reviews coming soon and I hoped you liked my Third Sentence Teaser!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

April 08, 2011

Upcoming Reviews

Sorry I haven't posted a lot of reviews lately! I've been busy devouring books to review.

New Reviews for:

City of Fallen Angels
Fablehaven Series
39 Clues Series
Percy Jackson Series
Infernal Devices #1
Heroes of Olympus #1
Kane Chronicles #1

I'm currently reading,

Beyonders #1
Before I Fall
Fablehaven #4
Making The Cut
The Wizard Heir

Any book suggestions?! Any books that I didn't mention that you want me to review?!
Remember I'm keeping it YA related!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

April 01, 2011

April 2011 New Releases!

For those of you at a loss for books right now I decided to post a bunch of books coming out this April!

April 1st 

Geek Fantasy Novel By E. Archer
Alice in Time By Penelope Bush
Almost True By Keren David
The Blue-Eyed Aborigine By Rosemary Hayes
Eclipse of the Jaguar By Richard Trout
Sign of the Moon (Warriors: Sign of the Moon #4) By Erin Hunter

April 4th

The Abused Werewolf Rescue Group By Catherine Jinks 
The Year we Were Famous By Catherine Estby Dagg

April 5th (AKA You Should Book it to Barnes and Noble Day! Pun not intended.)

City of Fallen Angels (Mortal Instruments #4) By Cassandra Clare
Vespers Rising (39 Clues #11) By Rick Riordan
Red Glove (The Curse Workers #2) By Holly Black
Where She Went (Sequel to If I Stay) By Gale Foreman
Through Her Eyes By Jennifer Archer
Flip By Martyn Bedford
Stay By Deb Calletti
The FitzOsbornes in Exhile By Michelle Cooper
Where I Belong By Gillian Cross
The Ghoul Next Door (Monster High #2) By Lisi Harrison
Huntress By Malinda Lo
Faerie Winter (Faerie Series #2) By Janni Lee Simner
The Time Traveling Fashionista By Bianca Turetsky

April 12th


Enclave By Ann Aguirre
The Gathering (Darkness Rising #1) By Kelley Armstrong
In the Shadow of the Lamp By Susanne Dunlap
Insight By Diana Greenwood
My Unfair Godmother By Jannette Rallison
What Comes After By Steve Watkins

April 14th 

The Returning By Christine Hinwood
On the Volcano By James Nelson
Akata Witch By Nnedi Okorafor

April 15th 

Out of Shadows By Jason Wallaceb

April 18th 

The Betrayal of Maggie Blaire By Elizabeth Laird

April 19th 

The Coven's Daughter By Lucy Jago
The Black (Morpheus Road #2) By D. J. MacHale
Boyfriends With Girlfriends By Alex Sanchez
H.I.V.E.-Escape Velocity By Mark Walden


April 26th

Abandon (Abandon #1) By Meg Cabot
The Last Little Blue Envelope (The Little Blue Envelope #2) By Maureen Johnson
Bumped By Megan McCafferty
Family By Micol Ostow

April 28th 

Ocean of Blood (The Saga of Larten Crepsley #2) By Darren Shan
Back When You Were Easier To Love By Emily Wing Smith

April 29th


Fury of the Phoenix (Kingdom of Xia series #2) By Cindy Pon


Anyways... Just figured you'd be interested in that. For those of you who have no idea what to read...

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

March 31, 2011

Review: City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass




Title: City of Bones
Author: Cassandra Clare
Seiries: The Mortal Instruments
Publisher: McElderly Books
Published: 2007



When Clary Fray heads out to the pandemonium club in New York City she hardly expects to witness a murder, much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered in odd markings. This is Clary's first meeting with the shadow hunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons - and keeping the odd werewolves and vampires in line. It's also her first meeting with gorgeous, golden haired Jace. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace's world, with a vengeance , when her mother disapears and Clary herself is bitten by a demon. But why would demons be interested in an ordinary mundane like Clary? And how did she suddenly get the sight? The shadowhunters would like to know...

After the first chapter of City of Bones by Cassandra Clare, I was instantly hooked. To everything from the interesting characters, the intriguing plot-line and the mysterious sexy Jace Wayland. After that things only got more interesting and, as Libba Bray - author of Going Bovine -says

"Hold on for a smart, sexy thrill ride!"

I really couldn't agree more! I could not put down this book, and some parts actually brought me to tears! NOTHING brings me to tears!

When I finished the book the only thing that was left unanswered - for me - was the question of  "What happens next?! The cliffhanger and sadness that lingered at the end of the books was heartbreaking which made me go right ahead and read City of Ashes, the second installment, and City of Glass the third book (see reviews below) in the - so called - trilogy.

Overall I rate Cassandra Clare's City of Bones 5 STARS

 ***

SPOILER FOR THOSE WHO HAVEN'T READ CITY OF BONES!




Title: City of Ashes
Author: Cassandra Clare
Series: The Mortal Instruments
Publisher: McElderly Books
Published: 2008


Clary Fray just wishes her life would go back to normal! But what's normal when you're demon-slaying shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and suddenly you can see downworlders like vampires, werewolves, and faeries? Clary would love to spend more time with her best friend Simon but the shadowhunters won't let her go - especially her handsome, infuriating new found brother Jace. And Clary's only chance to help her mother is to track down rouge shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil, and also her father. When the second mortal instrument is stolen , the terrifying inquisitor suspects Jace. Could Jace really be willing to betray everything he believes in to help his father?

In the second installment of The Mortal Instruments things just get more interesting! Jace and Clary's love for each other is getting torn apart by the fact that they are brother and sister. The way the story played out like this I thought was very well done by Clare and the whole story really reflected upon the last book, and though heart-breaking as it was, I flipped through the pages very fast.

The story itself was intriguing and I was pulled right into the plot-line, which took off very well from the last book which I admit was a tiny bit better. Clare seemed to be not as into this next story about Clary and wasn't putting her whole heart in it... which was very saddening.

Nevertheless the story was still AMAZING and I rate it 5 STARS

 ***

SPOILER FOR THOSE WHO HAVEN'T READ CITY OF BONES AND CITY OF ASH!
Title: City of Glass
Author: Cassandra Clare
Series: The Mortal Instruments
Publisher: McElderly Books
Published: 2009

To save her mother's life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters — never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and her best friend, Simon, has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.As Clary uncovers more about her family's past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he's willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City — whatever the cost? Love is a mortal sin and the secrets of the past prove deadly as Clary and Jace face down Valentine in the final installment of the The Mortal Instruments.

I loved every bit of this story  the way the words the flowed, the intricate, heartbreaking, powerful plot-line that got you instantly hooked, and the cliffhangers at the end of each chapter as the real story is finally revealed. It was truly amazing, and Cassy outdone herself on this one. Why else would I be literally gripping the edge of my seat wanting to know what happened next? This book is definitely on the same shelf as the well known Harry Potter series and edges by the Percy Jackson phenomenon. Which let me tell you is quite a feat!

Though the beginning was a bit slow-paced I like how Cassandra turned the story into an amazing adventure, and with no doubt in my mind I rate it 5 STARS!

***
Oh yes! There's one more thing that I have to mention before I sign off! If you were a fan of the originally 3 Mortal Instruments books then hold on to your horses because Cassy's coming out with another 3 Mortal Instruments, and guess what? The fourth installment comes out April 5th. Which I should mention is only 5 DAYS AWAY!





This is the cover for City of Fallen Angels so be ready to get blown away by Cassandra's newest novel!

 Have fun reading,

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

March 30, 2011

New Reviews - Old Reviews

I've lately been rereading a lot of books leading up to the new releases of 

City of Fallen Angels (Mortal Instruments #4) By Cassandra Clare
Vespers Rising (39 Clues #11) By Rick Riordan
The Throne of Fire (Kane Chronicles #2) By Rick Riordan


There's more but those are some of my top new releases that I'm waiting for!
Anyways my point is I'm going to post some of my old reviews of the books leading up to these seiries!

Starting... soon,

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

March 29, 2011

Review: Matched


Title: Matched
Author: Ally Condie
Seiries: Matched
Publisher: Dutton Books
Published: November 2010


IN THE SOCIETY OFFICIALS DECIDE. WHO YOU LOVE. WHERE YOU WORK. WHEN YOU DIE.

Cassia has always trusted their choices. It's hardly a price to pay for a long life, the perfect job, the ideal mate. So when her best friend appears on the Matching screen Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is the one... until she sees another face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. Now Cassia is faced with the impossible choices: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she's ever known and a path no one else has ever dared follow - between perfection and passion.

Matched is a must read and I admit it I judged the book by it's beautiful cover, fortunately I wasn't disappointed and the cover lived up to its looks. I couldn't put down the thrilling tale of Cassia and Ky. I loved how the romance took place in a controlled world in the future. The story focuses on the life of 17 year old Cassia. Everything's going exactly right (of course it is the society's always right!), she's matched with her best friend Xander, she might get the perfect job and then she starts falling for the wrong person. When secrets are shared, rules are broken, and tablets are eaten, Cassia's "perfect life" is thwarted, and the truth about the society is revealed.

What I didn't like about this dystopian fiction was that there seemed to be a lot of un-needed baackround information and the author described what was going on a little too much, with a few unneeded flashbacks, some that didn't make sense.

Overall I really enjoyed Matched by Allie Condie. The book ended with a cliff-hanger one making you want more and more. Luckily for us there's more to come.





Crossed is next in the "Matched Trilogy" and for me November 2011 couldn't come sooner. 

Overall I rate Matched 5 STARS


More reviews coming soon!
- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer



 

March 25, 2011

5 Book Facts about Me AKA Follow Friday #1

 Guess What?! Today's Follow Friday! 
               Don't understand? Here's the deal!

Follow Friday is a weekly event where you check out other's book blogs, follow people, and say HI! Each week there's a different question/ feature. Answer the question on your blog and have fun looking at other's answers! This week the featured blogger is Rebbecca from Confessions of a Page Turner!  
   For more info click below




Inspired by the inane twitter trend of #100factsaboutme, give us five BOOK RELATED silly facts about you.

1. I keep all my books in the best condition except for my favorite ones like Harry Potter.

2. If I read a great series I might not read another series or book until I've read the series at least 3 times in a row.

3. Sometimes I picture characters in my head and totally skip the description. Like now my picture of Jace and Clary from City of Bones by Cassandra Clare are thwarted because I used to picture them differently and now that I know what they really look like I don't know what to think of them!

4. I have two book-shelves and a cabinet and a half of books alone in my room not to mention all the books lying around the house.

5. I've bought most of my books cover-based. Take the Mortal Instruments for example! 

 So join in on the fun and join in the FOLLOW FUN!

March 23, 2011

Review: Pretty Little Liars





Title: Pretty Little Liars
Author: Sara Shephard
Series: Pretty Little Liars
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: 2006




EVERYONE HAS SOMETHING TO HIDE - ESPECIALLY HIGH SCHOOL JUNIORS SPENCER, ARIA, EMILY, AND HANNA.
Spencer covets her sister's boyfriend. Aria's fantasizing about her English teacher. Emily's crushing on the new girl at school. Hanna uses some ugly tricks to stay beautiful. But they've all kept an even bigger secret since their friend Alison vanished. How do I know? Because I know everything about the bad girls they were, the naughty girls they are, and all the dirty secrets they've kept. And guess what? I'm Telling.
                                                                                                                                          - A

Overall I liked this book. The prologue shows the girls seventh grade year. The year their friend Alison goes missing. It leaves you with a cliff hanger making you want more and more. The coming chapters introduce the main characters Spencer, Aria, Emily, and Hanna and how they go through their daily lives until they all start receiving mysterious emails, texts, and notes signed -A. For anyone interested in books like The Clique I definitely recommend the Pretty Little Liars series.

Something about the series that was a downfall though was the plot-line, which seemed a little too predictable. Though I liked how there was one last note from the mysterious - A left at the end of the book leaving you with a cliffhanger so you wanted to lead right into the next.
And I definitely do!








Flawless is the next in the Pretty Little Liars series and I'm excited to get my hands on it!

Overall I rate Pretty Little Liars 4 STARS.

More reviews coming soon,

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer




March 22, 2011

I review books too!

Wow! I can't believe I've made another blog when I can hardly keep up with my
first one! Silly me always trying to bite off more then I can chew!

For those of you who aren't following me and note I only have 2 actual followers on my other blog... I'm Jocelyn but I also go by Nelly and Crazy Writer. I - after looking at all my friends blogs (and a couple of strangers) - decided that I should become a book reviewer but my blog was full of just about everything else involving my personal life and my writing life I decided adding my book life in there too would be too much so I made this blog.

I will basically just review books (Trying to keep it simple!) But might add a few other juicy tidbits just to keep you interested in the blog.

 Well enough about me let's get book reviewing!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer