May 29, 2011

Nelly's Review Day Kick-off!

As I said before Today I was planning on putting out A LOT of Reviews and as promised I AM!

For the kick-off I've decided to announce the books that will be reviewed throughout the day, and without further ado let Review Day BEGIN!

Books to be Reviewed (Not in this order!):

Seedfolks By Paul Fleischman
Looking For Alaska By John Green
The Warrior Heir By Cinda Chima
Life as we Knew it By Susan Beth Pfeffer
Killer By Sara Shepard
Heartless By Sara Shepard
Wanted By Sara Shepard
Across the Universe By Beth Revis

Sound good to you?
Well then get ready for some rockin reviews!

Reviews NEXT!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

May 28, 2011

2 NEW Awesome Covers!

Hey Everyone!

Especially Infernal Devices and Heroes of Olympus fans!

You might not have noticed but 2 new covers have been released along with some extra tidbits!


For Infernal Devices,


Isn't it BEAUTIFUL?! Ohhh Jem Carstairs!

Here's the synopsis from Goodreads,

In Clockwork Prince, with Mortmain vanished and the clock counting down on how long Charlotte can keep control of the Institute away from Benedict Lightwood, Will, Jem and Tessa must dig into Mortmain’s past to predict what he will do in the future, But secrets about Mortmain aren’t all they find buried — Tessa begins to uncover the truth about her own birth, and the ghosts of Will’s past return to haunt him. As Tessa grows closer to Jem, and Will is driven further toward the brink of madness by jealousy and guilt, will they discover the truth in time to halt the next phase of Mortmain’s evil plan?

The other book, The Son of Neptune, cover has been released also.



This is also a book I'm excited about! And to read the first chapter CLICK HERE!

For those of you itching to read either of those books I'll be posting more information on them soon so stay tuned!

More Later

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

May 27, 2011

Follow Friday #5

OK I totally DIDN'T keep my promise but I have a good reason! I was in Victoria for the long weekend so I was therefore unavailable and without internet access. Then for the rest of the week our internet's been down so I haven't been able to get on. But I did finish some good books! I read Across the Universe by Beth Revis and Looking for Alaska by John Green. They were both great and reviews for those two books coming soon! Also I'm going to be reviewing ton's of books this coming Sunday so if your looking for some good reviews I'm posting New and Old reviews never posted here before on the blog so watch out for that. Anyways on to Follow Friday.




This week's question is,

 Q. How many books do you read in a week? And in what format do you read them, or listen to them?

Well so far this week I've read Across the Universe, Looking for Alaska, and I'm nearly finished The Throne of Fire and Heist Society so I'd say I read about 3-4 books a week I don't usually listen to books or read them on kindle/ebook so most likely you'll see me settled down with a paperback or (preferably) hardcover.

Anyways if your a new follower! Hi! If your old! Hi! It's great that you've hopped by to say hello!
Also right after this post I'll be posting two new awesome covers that have just been revealed and more info on the book!

See you soon and thanks for following!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

May 20, 2011

Follow Friday #4

And so comes another Follow Friday, more so one that I'm actually participating in because I'm sure you've noticed my absence! I promise that I will try to post a review a book update a quote or a meme everday just to keep you interersted. So lets hope I keep my promise!

Now on to...



This weeks question is...
Q. Can you tell us FIVE quirky habits or things about you? We all have them...


1. I'm in love with almond butter but can't eat peanut butter to save my life.


2. I'm secretly a major hockey fan Shhhh...!


3. One day last year I read for an entire day nonstop and finished aprox. 15 books!


4. I have a major stuffed toy collection and for some reason I can't bare to part with any of them!


5. I'm freakishly scared of butterflies and moths! NO JOKE!

What are 5 facts about you?
If your a new follower WELCOME!
If your an old follower WELCOME!


Leave your link and I'll definitely drop by!


- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

May 18, 2011

Review: Wicked





Title: Wicked
Author: Sara Shepard
Series: Pretty Little Liars #5
Publisher: HarperTeen
Published: November 25th 2008



In idyllic Rosewood, Pennsylvania, four very pretty girls just can't help but be bad. . . .
Hanna will do anything to be Rosewood's queen bee. Spencer's digging up her family's secrets. Emily can't stop thinking about her new boyfriend. And Aria approves a little too strongly of her mom's taste in men.
 
Now that Ali's killer is finally behind bars, the girls think they're safe. But those who forget the past are condemned to repeat it. And they should know by now that I'm always watching. . . 

-  A

I'm not going to say this book was Wicked because it was AMAZING, but A was certainly Wicked in this one. For those of you who read the last 4 books you know that there's a new A in town and that she's more evil then the last one. This book I think was written better then the last 4. I don't know if it was the story or what but it was more intriguing and the plot line was getting better leaving hints for what I knew what would become important in the next couple of books.

Sara Shepard took off great in this sequel series and I was SO excited to read the next on because of the awesome cliff hangers!

Overall I rated the 5th Pretty Little Liars 4 STARS!
 
More reviews soon!
- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

Review: A World Without Heroes


Title: Beyonders: A World Without Heroes
Author: Brandon Mull
Series: Beyonders #1
Publisher: Aladdin
Published: March 15th 2011

Jason Walker has often wished his life could be a bit less predictable--until a routine day at the zoo ends with Jason suddenly transporting from the hippo tank to a place unlike anything he's ever seen. In the past, the people of Lyrian welcomed visitors from the Beyond, but attitudes have changed since the wizard emperor Maldor rose to power. The brave resistors who opposed the emperor have been bought off or broken, leaving a realm where fear and suspicion prevail.
In his search for a way home, Jason meets Rachel, who was also mysteriously drawn to Lyrian from our world. With the help of a few scattered rebels, Jason and Rachel become entangled in a quest to piece together the word of power that can destroy the emperor, and learn that their best hope to find a way home will be to save this world without heroes.
The beginning of this book had such a good catch that I thought I would finish it in one day despite the looming 454 pages that it held. Finishing the book in a day was not the case though it took almost a month to get through it but when I was done I was mostly satisfied. I was of course left with a few unanswered questions, but that was to be expected. But I was also left with a book that didn't seem to be written by Brandon Mull.

My reason for this is that it was way too wordy, yes it was good, but did Mull have to describe every little thing with words that I know people in this age group wouldn't understand? The plot line was great though full of action and the quest aspect was sure to hook young and old readers. I also liked that through the book Jason was searching for a word and I liked it how Mull created something that the characters could work towards while giving a lot of key information as they explored different places of this new world Lyrian!
 
Overall I REALLY enjoyed this book and rate it 4 STARS!
Brandon Mull's next book scheduled for the January of 2012 will be called Seeds of Rebellion and is to be the second book in the Beyonders Trilogy. For other books by Brandon Mull read the Fablehaven series!

More reviews soon and the review for Wicked #5 in the Pretty Little Liars series will be posted right now!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

May 12, 2011

Review: Unbelievable





Title: Unbelievable
Author: Sara Shepard
Series: Pretty Little Liars #4
Publisher: HarperTeen
Published: June 1st 2008


FOUR PRETTY LITTLE LIARS CHARMED LIVES HAVE TURNED INTO LIVING NIGHTMARES!
Emily's been shipped off to Iowa to live with her ├╝berconservative cousins. Aria's boyfriend is behind bars—because of her. Spencer's afraid she was involved in Ali's murder. But Hanna's fate is far worse: She's clinging to life in the hospital because she knew too much.
If these girls don't start listening to me, Hanna's going to look like the lucky one.

-A
 This book was Unbelievable. Most things we had questions about in the last three books were coming to a conclusion. And as the Pretty Little Liars deepest secrets were revealed so was A.

Some things I enjoyed about this book was how the Shepard managed to always make someone look like Ali's killler or A and then at the last second something totally unexpected would change your perspective about it entirely. She sort of drew you away from the real A and the real killer but still left you with all the hints just dropping them into the backdrop or plot line where you wouldn't notice.

The only sort of con as in all the books was the fact that nearing the end it got very confusing! So many things were happening at once and so many things were being revealed that I wasn't always sure what was trying to be portrayed. In the end A and Ali's killer was found and I was sure that this must be the end to the Pretty Little Liars series. But no. Just like in the books Shepard pulled a huge twist and suddenly there's a new A in town. Who I think is planning on spilling all the pretty little liar's secrets even more deviously then the first.

 Overall I rate Unbelievable 5 WHOLE STARS!

You should definetly head on to your local bookstore or library and pick up Unbelievable be ready for a great read and huge thrill ride!

More reviews to come!
Kisses!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer


May 11, 2011

Review: Perfect


Title: Perfect
Author: Sara Shepard
Series: Pretty Little Liars #3
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: September 1st 2007

In a town where gossip thrives like the ivy that clings to its mansions, where mysteries lie behind manicured hedges and skeletons hide in every walk-in closet, four perfect-looking girls aren't nearly as perfect as they seem.
Three years ago, Spencer, Aria, Emily, Hanna, and their best friend Alison were the girls at Rosewood Day School. They clicked through the halls in their Miu Miu flats, tanned in their matching Pucci bikinis, and laughed behind their freshly manicured fingernails. They were the girls everyone loved but secretly hated- especially Alison.
So when Alison mysteriously vanished one night, Spencer, Aria, Emily, and Hanna's grief was tinged with . . . relief. And when Alison's body was later discovered in her own backyard, the girls were forced to unearth some ugly memories of their old friend, too. Could there be more to Alison's death than anyone realizes?
Now someone named A, someone who seems to know everything, is pointing the finger at one of them for Ali's murder. As their secrets get darker and their scandals turn deadly, A is poised to ruin their perfect little lives forever.
 
Best. One. Yet. This one was the clearly the best one yet with plenty of new twists, Shepard definitely perfected this book. Some of the things I liked best was how things that had happened in the first book were coming more into play now and threats in earlier A notes were becoming true. Plus the pretty little liars were getting into more and more deeper trouble. I also liked how after every girl's chapter there was a total cliff hanger leaving you wanting more, but when you moved on to the next story, you were completely drawn in and didn't want it to end!

Some things I didn't like was that it got very confusing and toward the end when the girls stroie got intertwined I was very confused, but it was OK because the minute I put Perfect down look what I found!





Unbelievable is next! 
     Overall I LOVED Perfect! And I rate it 5 STARS!
 
The review for Unbelievable coming next!
- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer



May 05, 2011

Review: Before I Fall

Title: Before I Fall
Author: Lauren Oliver
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: March 2nd 2010

WHAT IF YOU ONLY HAD ONE DAY TO LIVE? WHAT WOULD YOU DO? WHO WOULD YOU KISS? AND HOW FAR WOULD YOU GO TO SAVE YOUR LIFE?
Samantha Kingston has it all: the world's most crush-worthy boyfriend, three amazing best friends, and first pick of everything at Thomas Jefferson High—from the best table in the cafeteria to the choicest parking spot. Friday, February 12, should be just another day in her charmed life.
Instead, it turns out to be her last.
Then she gets a second chance. Seven chances, in fact. Reliving her last day during one miraculous week, she will untangle the mystery surrounding her death—and discover the true value of everything she is in danger of losing.

After I read this book I had so many mixed emotions. I was sad, yet happy. Relieved, yet I felt like the story wasn't completely told. In fact the whole journey of reading that book was full of mixed emotions for me. I don't think I've ever experienced something like it.

For those of you confused. Let me explain. Samantha Kingston is a girl who never expected to die on February 12th. She's like any other haughty, snobby, prissy, senior. But as she begins to relive the same day again and again. Samantha begins to realize exactly how haughty, snobby, and prissy she really is.

The thing I loved most about this book was how each chapter was the same day February 12th. But each day was totally different, and each day had a totally different twist. Lauren Oliver seemed to be able to reveal all the information but spread it out so there was always a cliff-hanger. And even when Samantha was sure everything was going right a knew twist was revealed.

The only thing I didn't like was that sometimes I felt like I wanted to put it down and sometimes it was slow and a couple paragraphs seemed unneeded. Overall I really LOVED Before I Fall and I rate it.


A whopping 4 STARS
  
More reviews soon,

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer



The books that sit upon my shelf...

Hehehe... Hahaha... Why am I writing this post?! You might be wondering the same question. Well here's your answer. Sort of.


















Those are most of the books that I'm going to be reading the next month. YAY! Did I mention most? Also I've realized how few reviews I've posted so reviews coming soon! It's OK I have some prepared! Sort of... In my head. You know...

Anyways I'm going to go post some reviews NOW!

Wish me luck! (I was joking...)
- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer

May 01, 2011

May 2011 New Releases

So you're wondering whats coming out this May? Look no further then below these words for some awesome YA releases!


May 1st 

Shine By Lauren Myracle

May 3rd


Divergent (Divergent #1) By Veronica Roth
The Throne of Fire (Kane Chronicles #2) By Rick Riordan
So Much Closer By Susanne Colasanti
The Summer of Firsts and Lasts By Terra Elan McVoy
Moonglass By Jessi Kirby
Illusions By Aprilynne Pike
The Craving (The Vampire Diaries: Stefan's Diaries #3) By L.J. Smith
The Rouge Crew (Redwall #22) By Brian Jaques


May 10th

What Happened to Goodbye By Sarah Dessen
Die for Me By Amy Plum
Incredibly Alice By Phyllis Reynolds Naylor


May 12th

Ten (Winnie Perry #1) By Lauren Myracle

May 17th 

Big Nate on a Roll (Big Nate #3) By Lincoln Peirce
Cryptic Cravings (Vampire Kisses Series #8) By Ellen Schrieber

May 24th

Beauty Queens By Libba Bray

May 25th

The Warlock (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #5) By Michael Scott


If I missed anything please let me know and I'll add it to the list! But there's the new releases of May for you!

- Jocelyn AKA Crazy Writer
P.S. I'll probably be on and off for a few weeks because of homework, school, swimming, track, writing, reading, the sort. But I'll get to you when I have time!